My Summer Reading List

books

It’s finally summer (well, officially not for another two weeks). But the temps in Ohio are in the 80s and everyone’s heading to the pool, so it’s summer in my book!

For years, summer meant a list of required summer reading complimented by new Harry Potter books (and midnight book premieres!). So, even though I’ve been out of high school for a while, summer still doesn’t feel complete without a stack of books on my nightstand threatening to fall off. Since I’m leaving work in a month and leaving for grad school a month after that, I’ve got a lot of spare time on my hands and I plan to use every moment of that before free time becomes a thing of the past.

My summer reading’s got a nice mix of quick & long, fluffy & intense, fiction & nonfiction.

My goal is to get through all of these books, but realistically I might quit some books after a few chapters or decide to add new ones. I’m of Anne’s philosophy, over at the Art of Simple, that if you hate what you’re reading, put it down. That’s the joy of being a grown-up, we don’t have to finish book we’re not enjoying.

So, without further ado, my list:

The Light in the Ruins I loved the author’s other book, Sandcastle Girls, so I’ve picked this book solely on how much I loved that one. Hoping to not be let down.

Good Manners for Nice People Who Sometimes Say F*ck Honestly, the title really pulled me in on this one as I’d consider myself one of those people. We’ll see if the book is an interesting and catching as the title.

The Casual Vacancy So, I loved Harry Potter. And, when I say love, I mean obsessed. I’m sure I could win a jeopardy on random facts about the Harry Potter world. And, knowing the author of my favorite book series has another book… well, I’ve got to check it out for myself. Admittedly, I’ve heard a mix of reviews for this book, but I wanted to experience it for myself.

The Magicians (rec’d by My Life as a Teacup) This is on My Life As A Teacup’s summer reading list and when she said people have described this book as “Adult Harry Potter”, well, I had to check it out. Plus, it’s part of a series!

Partials A friend recommended this book since I’m a fan of The Hunger Games. A dystopian, sci-fi novel that’s pretty firmly science-oriented and an intriguing plot? I’m in. And, like the above, it’s part of a series!

Austenland Ok, I’ll admit. I’ve read Pride & Prejudice one too many times and I’m a decent fan of Austen’s novels, but I’ve never read this book or seen the movie. The same friend that recommended the above book thought I might like this. Plus, British men & countryside? Say no more!

The Interestings (rec’d by My Life as a Teacup) Paraphrased from Goodreads: Follows the lives of six characters from when they meet at a summer camp into middle age exploring the roles of class, art, money, and power and how all of it can shift over the course of a friendship.

The Ice Cream Queen of Orchard Street  The plot sounds intriguing: Set in 1913, young Russian girl emigrates to America, is taken in by tough-loving Italian ices peddler, falls in love, and builds an ice cream empire. I’m sold.

The Intern’s Handbook Assassins and mystery, I’m intrigued.

The Rosie Project (rec’d by My Life as a Teacup) Feel-good novel with awkward scientist narrating. I feel like this could either be a GREAT novel or a bit of a let down. I usually go more for female narrators (and how awesome would it have been if the narrator was an awkward, quirky female scientist?!). But, I’m giving this a try since My Life as a Teacup recommended this and she seems to have a pretty great taste in books 🙂

Romance is My Day Job (rec’d by My Life as a Teacup) Another recommendation by My Life as a Teacup. If you haven’t checked out her blog yet, you need to! Anywho, this is another fluffy book (which I’m definitely partial to in the summers). Plot Summary: Harlequin romance editor looking for love. A bit of a dull plot, but I’m really hoping they poke a bit of fun at the Harlequin Romance plots (even though I can be a total sucker for them). Here’s hoping that we get hilarious snippets of various Harlequin novels she’s editing.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Ok, I have tried to read this book like 6 different times. I even brought it with me as the only form of entertainment on one of my flights to Japan. That’s a 14-hour flight. I was sure I’d read it. I just can never get more than a quarter through. But, this time, I’ve decided to get the book on audio tape (since I have a 40 minute drive to work). So many people have told me that the book really picks up a little after a quarter in. So, giving it one last shot. Seventh time’s the charm?

All the Light We Cannot See My office has a monthly book club and this book was picked! It’s set in WWII and I’m a sucker for historical fiction. Plus, the coworker who picked this book usually picks really good historical fiction. So, I’ve already got some high expectations.

For more summer reading lists and ideas, check out these blogs:

So, what’s on your summer reading list?

2 thoughts on “My Summer Reading List

    • There’s a bit of a stigma attached with not finishing books though, don’t you think? It was hard for me to get to a point where I could decide to not finish a book AND not feel guilty. Glad you do the same though! Very liberating!!

Leave a Reply

Land of Hope & Dreams

College Student Personnel Western Illinois University '14 | Iowa State University '12 | Runner, Yogi, List-Maker, Reader, Learner | Into Drinking Coffee and Eating Healthy | Newlywed | Unfinished | Morning Person | Bruce Springsteen enthusiast | Snail mail lover.

The Thesis Whisperer

Just like the horse whisperer - but with more pages

madebywe

Just another WordPress.com site

Ohio University Office of Global Opportunites

Study. Teach. Work. Volunteer. Intern. GO!

DU Abroad

The University of Denver sends students to study all around the globe here are some blogs from those students!

Classy Career Girl

Get Your Career Unstuck, Find Work You Love and Get Ahead.

Jeyna Grace ©

Imagination, the perfect form of escapism.

my organized mayhem

a blog dedicated to my latest obsessions

Girl In Like

My journey of choosing the right path and the right words.

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

Erin Matson

Feminism, Reproductive Justice, Activism

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

If Books Could Blog

The written word is the only saviour this world needs.

